AIM Leadership Act

The Alliance supports the House legislation H.R.. 5544, The American Innovation and Manufacturing Leadership Act of 2019.  H.R. 5544 relies on three key components: A market-based allocation system for the producers of HFC compounds that gradually phases down their production and use, a flexible program for future user sectors to achieve the transition of the user technology sectors, and a heightened emphasis for improved management of refrigerant substances where relevant.  The legislation also contains a policy and program approach similar to what the industry has relied upon under Title VI of the Clean Air Act. It is also designed to be a stand-alone program and not a Clean Air Act Amendment.  Independent analysis commissioned by the Alliance projects that the American Innovation and Manufacturing Leadership Act would generate an additional 33,000 manufacturing jobs, improve the balance of trade by $12.5 billion annually, and increase exports by billions of dollars based on additional investment by the HVACR industry in the United States over the next decade.The Alliance joins numerous industry trade associations along with companies large and small who back the proposed law. This coalition recognizes that swift passage of the legislation would provide much needed policy certainty for American companies in a rapidly advancing and highly competitive global market for next generation fluorocarbon technologies.  For years, the focus for a global hydrofluorocarbon (HFC) phasedown has represented a compelling, nonpartisan issue that can be solved by this common-sense legislation. Beyond the environmental benefits,passage of the AIM Act is projected to create upwards of 33,000 new U.S. manufacturing jobs, adding to a sector that is responsible for over 600,000 workers, provides annual sales upwards of $205 billion and contributes more than $600 billion annually in output in the U.S. economy.

The growing list of House co-sponsors includes:

  • Represenatitive Paul Tonko (D-NY-20)
  • Represenatitive Pete Olson (R-TX-22)
  • Represenatitive Elise Stefanik (D-CA-52)
  • Represenatitive Brian Fitzpatrick (R-PA-01)
  • Represenatitive Joe Neguse (D-CO-2)
  • Represenatitive Francis Rooney (R-FL-19)
  • Represenatitive Abby Finkenauer (D-IA-01)
  • Represenatitive Doris Matsui (D-CA-06)
  • Represenatitive David Kustoff (R-TN-08)
  • Represenatitive Raja Krishnamoorthi (D-IL-08)
  • Represenatitive Don Bacon (R-NE-02)
  • Represenatitive Lisa Blunt Rochester (D-DE-At Large)
  • Represenatitive Rob Woodall (R-GA-07)
  • Represenatitive John Katko (R-NY-24)
  • Represenatitive Marc Veasey (D-TX-33)
  • Represenatitive Peter King (R-NY-02)
  • Represenatitive Nanette Barragan (D-CA-44)
  • Represenatitive Lloyd Smucker (R-PA-11)
  • Represenatitive Donald McEachin (D-VA-04)
  • Represenatitive Gerald Connolly (D-VA-11)
  • Represenatitive Rodney Davis (R-IL-13)
  • Representative Tom Cole (R-OK-04)
  • Representative Cynthia Axne (D-IA-03)
  • Representative Tom Reed (R-NY-23)
  • Representative Bobby Rush (D-IL-01)